bookwritegirl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Employment at deaf/hoh summer day camps? November 22, 2007

Filed under: ASL,deaf — bookwritegirl @ 10:10 pm

“A deaf person can do anything that a hearing person can except hear.” ~I. King Jordan

 Might be just a tad optimistic…many of the jobs I keep finding online ask for “good communication skills” “good verbal/listening skills” etc etc in that same vein. Others are “help desks” or “help patrons/customers” or the like.

 Hmm…I can hear well (in quiet/moderately noisy situations). But not on the phone…however I do have VRS system now, and could possibly use a TTY, that form of customer service. My signing skills are getting better…both my Deaf teachers have said that my signing is good (even though I know it still needs improvement…but just wait until the end of ASL 5 this summer). Everybody I know in networking situations says I’m easy to work with, always cheerful/optimistic, and a “real pleasure”.

No, I don’t mean to toot my own horn. I’m listing my skills, because, quite frankly, I’m not sure what sort of summer job would work well for me. I truly can do anything, except hear (and I can hear fairly well).

I’m going to see if the city’s newspaper needs a typist this summer. I’m also looking into this day camp thing my school puts on every summer…as soon as I find the contact info. I’d love to write. Or read to kids. I’d rather not do grunt work like janitorialing, because I already know first hand how thankless that is. Same for waitressing.

My current job as library page will probably give me a few more hours this summer, but not that many more, so either I have to get a second (better paying) job at the start of summer, then quit the library this fall. Let me say this: I love my library job! But I seriously need to make more money to save up for my 2nd yr senior year (scholarships would have run out by that point) and for grad school and Gallaudet.

My other option is a good summer job, like I already said. I need to take ASL 5 this summer, the session runs for like 6-8 weeks, I think? So it’d be from like mid May to end of June, something like that. So I can work some sort of job during the day, then the classes will be held at night.

My other thought is summer camp. Some camps go on a weekly session basis, other camps are full (day/night) camps for 1-2 weeks and that’s it. So…I could possibly travel out of state to help out at these camps. The YMCA? That’s okay…but what I just thought of was a camp for deaf/hoh kids and teenagers. I heard that Gallaudet had a sort of summer camp program? Some states also have deaf camps–mine does not, but I may be able to travel to work at these camps.

My first choice would be Gallaudet. So, does anybody know about their program, what sort of employment they offer? Room/board (even in a tent counts), salary, etc. I can do my own transportation; I’d probably take the train there.

Okay, yeah, this all sounds stupid, but I really don’t know where to start. I don’t know what questions to ask. I know this knowledge comes with experience, and one can ask another, more experienced, person for advice and tips, and that is what I’m doing here.

I’m sure I’m really early, possibly jumping the gun here. But I hate uncertanity. Plus I’m procrastainating off homework. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Employment at deaf/hoh summer day camps?”

  1. me Says:

    Gallaudet’s summer camp is a day camp, and they won’t provide you with housing. All of the other deaf sleep-away camps pay very little. If you’re looking to make money, this isn’t the way to go.
    Why do you assume “good communication skills” mean you have to hear well? Unless it’s a job where your primary duty is answering the phone, you should apply. If you need accommodations, worry about it after you get the job.
    You are doing this job to make money. So what if it’s “thankless”? This isn’t a career choice. It’s to achieve your goal of moving out and growing up. Have you networked with people you know? People at your church? Tell them you’re looking for a summer job that pays better than shelving books. Go to the career center at your university and see what they have.
    I still can’t believe you’re not allowed to drive on the highway. How are you supposed to get more experience if they never let you do it? Why don’t you ask “can I drive?” when your family goes someplace?
    Why do you have to take summer school? No decent job will want to hire you for such a short amount of time. It’s not worth it to them to spend time training you. Same for a camp setting. They will want you for all of the sessions.

  2. bookwritegirl Says:

    Thanks for letting me know about the pay for the camps! That’s good to know…I guess it’s more of a volunteer/giving back to the community thing than a money-making job. I still think it would be a great experience to do this at least once in my life. Okay, maybe this summer won’t work, because ASL 5 is offered only in the summer at my univ, and I want to take it. But maybe next summer or some time down the road.

    I’m not sure, but I had always figured “good communication skills” meant hearing, because that’s the pathological view of it. “Aha, you can’t hear, so therefore you can’t communicate like the millions other people on the planet, and therefore you don’t have good communcation skills” Yeah, now I’m learning that that’s not necessarily the case 🙂 I can ace the interview, I know how to do that, but it was always the fear of feeling like I would somehow be “tricking” my employers if they suddenly found out I needed accomodations. At least now I have my VR counselor’s email and VP number…she told me that VR would help advocate my case and provide anything that I may need for accomodations. I have to learn how to keep that in mind 🙂

    As always, I appreciate a different perspective 🙂 And you’re right. Originally my goal was something for my resume, since I will eventually get my librarian degree. But I’ve already had 6 years of library experience, it’s time for something with more money! I always felt like I should “commit” to a job, but you’re right, it’s not a career choice.

    I’ve started to network already (thank goodness for Facebook) and two of my friends work at the furniture mart, making lots of money (at least, compared to me). They were the ones telling me about their jobs, and I’m certain they’ll be willing to be my references. 🙂

    I have, that’s the thing 😦 It’s a slightly complicated issue, but hey, my parents are taking little baby steps forwards. That’s a positive sign.

    Thanks, and I hope you had a good Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

