bookwritegirl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Okay, for you deaf music fans, I have a question for you November 26, 2007

Filed under: deaf,music — bookwritegirl @ 10:02 pm

I’m loving some of the music I’ve been finding lately, and I had been playing them in my car. The only problem is that I can’t read the lyrics while I’m driving. While I love the music for the most part, it makes far more sense if I know the lyrics too. So, I had been listening to it at home, with YouTube videos and the lyrics in separate browser windows side by side, but I can’t exactly turn it up as loud as I want.

I’m thinking about splurging, then, on some sort of listening device. iPod maybe, or something similar. Even a CD player is an option. With Christmas and my birthday coming up, I’ll have some extra money to put towards it, so I’m guessing on spending about 100 dollars. Is that a reasonble price? What sort of gadget do you suggest I’d get?

Now here’s the tricky part. I don’t know how to get those earbuds to stay on my microphones, and I play music kinda loudly, and I’m not sure how to tell if I’m “treating” the world to my music or not. So, what sort of technical tips and tricks might you have for a person wearing hearing aids to use? Last time I used one of those “muffler” type earphones, not only did I feel stupid, it caused my hearing aids to feedback. So, something a bit more discreet would be appreciated, but I’m open to whatever suggestions you might have. I don’t know any other hard of hearing person who has a bte hearing aids, the one student I know has an in the ear aid, so earbuds are a more viable option for her.

Perhaps I can take out my hearing aid and crank the volume up high, but I find I get a fuller picture with both the hearing aid and the cochlear implant.

I’d love to try to listen to music while exercising, but I’m also willing to look for something to plug into my computer and listen to it that way in the library or something.

ย Thanks!

Oh, btw, I’m loving Chris Tomlin at the moment. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

9 Responses to “Okay, for you deaf music fans, I have a question for you”

  1. quixoticdeaf Says:

    http://www.tecear.com/Music%20Link.htm

    or I have a Hatis (Google it) I love it because they work with t-coils and they fit so well on my ears with a hearing aid on. Plus you hear them better than a loop that goes around your neck (same technology though, this is just a lot closer to your hearing aid/CI)

  2. bookwritegirl Says:

    Thanks so much! I didn’t realize they made something like this…cool…:)

    This is definitely going on my to-buy list!

    I already love them better than the loop. I hated the loop. Back in 3rd grade, before I was homeschooled, and still today I refuse to wear it in college. So, thanks!

  3. fact fun Says:

    The main thing i’m enjoying while reading your blog is the way you write, you are a really charismatic person and your posts are wonderful, keep it up!

  4. bookwritegirl Says:

    Thanks for writing, fact fun! I’m glad to hear you enjoy my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    Plus, I’m also glad you wrote because now I know about *your* blog; I love these sort of trivia facts! I’m going to be posting some of these to share with my friends on Facebook, if you don’t mind ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. me Says:

    Doesn’t your school have a speech and hearing clinic? Most big schools that have audiology programs also have clinics, and usually services for students are free or very low cost. Make an appointment with the audiologist and ask what they have for you to listen to music better. There are all kinds of patch cords you can use with your CI, and depending on what kind of hearing aid you have, they might be able to put a boot on it so you can get direct audio input. This is definitely something an audiologist can help with.

  6. me Says:

    Another thought… when was the last time you had a new map for your CI? There are some programs that are better for listening to music than others, and you might want to talk to an audiologist at your implant center.

  7. bookwritegirl Says:

    Cool, I hadn’t thought of that! We do have an audiology program, and one of my ASL friend is working with a lady on her speech, while the lady is working with her on her signing. I’ll also email my regular audiologist who works at a big-name research hospital. She’ll probably be able to get me a deal on whatever equipment I may need…:) Thanks!

    It’ll be about time for the appt. in April, I think? I think that’s when the last one was this year. (It’ll be my 3 yr anniversary in January, btw!) I may be able to get in sooner…in fact, I will try for that, since as I’m listening to the music, it sounds like I’m hearing it through a door (at least on that ear, anyway).

    I appreciate all your helpful hints! I never knew there was a mapping program for music. I’ll have to give that a try ๐Ÿ™‚ Esp. since the Freedom has four mapping slots!

  8. bookwritegirl Says:

    thanks so much!! I will get started right away on this!


Leave a Reply

